الهندسة الكهربائية والطاقة المتجددة

صمم برنامج الهندسة الكهربائية والطاقة المتجددة (ELERE) ليتوافق ورسالة الكلية، وليلبي حاجة أخرى في المجتمع الفلسطيني، وبالتحديد مهندسي الكهرباء الخريجين ذوي الخبرات الخاصة في مجال الطاقة المتجددة. يأتي ذلك مع انسجام تام فيما بين المساقات المطروحة خلال هذا البرنامج، كما وسيتم تعليم الطلاب الملتحقين به وتدريبهم وتأهيلهم لخدمة قطاع الطاقة المتجددة سريع النمو ودمجهم مع الشبكات التقليدية.

وسيوفر هذا البرنامج الهندسي مزيدا من فرص إنشاء الشركات الصغيرة والخدمات الجديدة، فالمهندسين الكهربائيين ذوي المعرفة القوية بالطاقة المتجددة مطلوبون في هذه المرحلة إذ بات الجميع مهتما بمستقبل مصادر الطاقة التقليدية، وانبعاثات الغازات، والتلوث، والبيئة. لذا وعلى غرار معظم حكومات العالم، أدركت الحكومة الفلسطينية أهمية دمج أنظمة الطاقة المتجددة بالشبكات الكهربائية التقليدية، وبهذا أطلقت المبادرة الفلسطينية للطاقة، والتي تقدم عبرها الحوافز لتشجيع الناس على استخدام الطاقات المتجددة. من هنا برزت الحاجة الماسة لمهندسين كهربائيين بدرجة علمية جيدة، وأن يكونوا متدربين وخبراء في مجال الطاقة والطاقة المتجددة، وهو تماما ما يهدف البرنامج إلى إنتاجه.

وصمم برنامج الهندسة الكهربائية والطاقة المتجددة (ELERE) بناء على التوصيات التي قدمتها مجموعة من أهم الجهات المختصة في حقل الهندسة الكهربائية والطاقة المتجددة ومن ضمنها معهد مهندسي الكهرباء والإلكترونيات (IEEE) ومجلس الأنشطة التعليمية (EAB).

نتائج التعلم

عند الانتهاء بنجاح من هذا البرنامج سيكون الخريجون قادرين على القيام بما يلي:

  1. قياس وتحليل أداء الشبكة الكهربائية واقتراح طرق لتحسينها بما في ذلك إضافة مصادر الطاقة المتجددة.
  2. استكشاف الأخطاء في أنظمة الطاقة الكهربائية الحالية.
  3. تصميم ومحاكاة وتحليل وتطبيق أنظمة الطاقة التقليدية والمتجددة ، أو توسيع الأنظمة الحالية لتلبية احتياجات السوق.
  4. اختبار وفحص و تشغيل المحركات الكهربائية والمولدات والمحولات ، وتوربينات الرياح ، والوحدات الكهربائية الضوئية ، والمحولات والمعدات الأخرى ذات الصلة.
  5. التعرف على فرص توظيف أنواع مناسبة من أنظمة الطاقة المتجددة في المواقع الجغرافية المختلفة ، وإجراء الدراسات اللازمة لاقتراح النظام المناسب.
  6. إجراء دراسات التكاملية للطاقة المتجددة في الشبكات التقليدية وتحليل تحديات إضافة مصادر الطاقة المتجددة.
  7. تطبيق الاستراتيجيات الجديدة للتحكم في الشبكة الذكية وفلسفات التوليد الموزع.
  8. إدارة المشاريع في مجال الهندسة الكهربائية ومجال أنظمة الطاقة المتجددة.
  9. مواصلة الدراسة في أي مجال من المواضيع المذكورة أعلاه.
  10. إنشاء وتنفيذ دراسات بحثية وتطويرية متعمقة ذات صلة بأنظمة الطاقة التقليدية والمتجددة.
  11. استخدام برمجيات الطاقة المتجددة مثل Homer Energy ، و PVSYST ، Sketchup  وغيرها.
  12. فهم وتوظيف المسؤولية الأخلاقية لاستدامة الطاقة.

 

حاجة سوق العمل لخريجي برنامج الهندسة الكهربائية والطاقة المتجددة:

بات لمهندسي الكهرباء الذين لديهم معرفة بمصادر الطاقة المتجددة وتكنولوجيتها أهمية خاصة نظرا للحاجة الدولية والمحلية لاستغلال مصادر الطاقة المتجددة، كما وتزداد الحاجة للمهندسين الكهربائيين الذين يسعون دوما للبحث عن أي مصادر متجددة متاحة والتي لا تتم ملاحظتها. هنا يأتي دور برنامج ELERE إذ سيخرج مثل هؤلاء المهندسين.

إن فكرة توظيف المصادر المختلفة للطاقة المتجددة المتاحة في موقع خاص لتوليد الطاقة الكهربائية تكتسب الآن شعبية عالية للغاية بسبب تأثيراتها الإيجابية على كل من صحة الإنسان، والبيئة، والوضع الاقتصادي، وموثوقية الطاقة، وغيرها.علاوة على ذلك فإن مصادر الطاقة المتجددة تقلل انبعاثات الغازات الضارة، وتقلل نفايات محطات توليد الطاقة، وتقلل التكاليف التشغيلية للموارد التقليدية، وتحسن موثوقية أنظمة الطاقة، والعديد من المزايا الأخرى.

أما بخصوص وضعنا الخاص في فلسطين، ولأننا نعتمد على الطاقة الكهربائية المستوردة لكوننا لا نملك محطات لتوليد الطاقة الكهربائية، تعتبر مصادر الطاقة المتجددة مولداتنا الكهربائية المستقلة الوحيدة بهذا يمكن لمولدات الطاقة هذه المساهمة في حل مشكلة نقص الطاقة خلال فترات الذروة في الاستهلاك التي نعاني منها.

ونظرا لفوائدها الكثيرة تشجع الجهات الرسمية في فلسطين توظيف مصادر الطاقة المتجددة في إنتاج الكهرباء، وسيتم وضع اللوائح الخاصة والتسهيلات لاستخدام هذه المصادر بما في ذلك الإعانات والمساعدات المقدمة على نطاق واسع. عفلى سبيل المثال يجب أن تضم المنشآت والمباني الحكومية الجديدة، مثل: المدارس، والمستشفيات، والعيادات، أنظمة كهروضوئية لإنتاج الطاقة الكهربائية.

لذا تجد الجامعة العربية الأمريكية وكلية الهندسة وتكنولوجيا المعلومات أنه من الضروري تزويد المجتمع ببرامج شبيهه والتي ستخرج أجيالا من المهندسين القادرين على تلبية احتياجات المجتمع المذكورة سابقا.

 

وظائف الخريجين:

تنتشر الطاقة المتجددة بشكل كبير في كل العالم و ذلك لوجود بعض الموارد المتجددة في كل دولة. و لذلك فان جميع البلدان المتقدمة والنامية تشارك في النهوض بهذا القطاع. و يمكن لخريجي برنامج الهندسة الكهربائية مع الطاقة المتجددة العمل محليا ودوليا في العديد من القطاعات ومنها:

  1. شركات توزيع الطاقة الكهربائية
  2. البلديات والمجالس المحلية
  3. الهيئات التنظيمية للقطاع الكهربائي
  4. الطاقة المتجددة / شركات الطاقة الضوئية
  5. مكاتب استشارات الطاقة
  6. شركات تسويق الطاقة المتجددة
  7. معاهد البحوث في مجال الطاقة المتجددة في القطاعات الحكومية والجامعات 
  8. شركات المقاولات 
  9. الشركات الخاصة

Announcement iconAdmission Applications are now being Accepted !!
for the Fall Semester of the Academic Year 2020/2021

Electrical Engineering and Renewable Energy

Electrical Engineering & Renewable Energy (ELERE) program has been carefully designed to satisfy the needs of the Palestinian community, in graduating electrical engineers with particular expertise in renewable energy. Students in this program will be taught, trained, and qualified to serve the ever-important electrical power system and the fast-growing sector of renewable energies and their integration into conventional electrical grids.

Electrical engineers with strong knowledge in renewable energy sources can be stakeholders of global concerns such as the future of conventional resources of energy, gas emissions, pollution, and environment. Therefore, well-educated, trained, and experienced electrical engineers in the field of energy and renewable energy are immanently needed. This is exactly what this program aims at producing.

Finally, it should be mentioned that ELERE program is designed based on the recommendations presented by the most respectful international bodies in the field of electrical engineering and renewable.

Goals

Upon a successful completion of this program, graduates should be able to do the following:

  1. Measure and analyze the performance of an electrical grid and suggest ways to improve it including adding renewable energy sources.
  2. Troubleshoot faults and errors in electrical power systems and present solutions.
  3. Design, simulate, analyze, and implement electrical energy systems, or extend existing systems to satisfy the needs of customers.
  4. Test and examine the operation and performance of electrical motors, generators, transformers, wind turbines, photovoltaic modules, inverters and other related equipment.
  5. Recognize opportunities of employing appropriate types of renewable energy systems in different geographical locations, perform sizing studies, and propose appropriate system configuration.
  6. Perform integration studies of renewable energy into conventional grids and analyze the challenges of adding such renewable energy sources.
  7. Apply the new strategies of smart grid control and distributed generation philosophies.
  8. Manage projects in the field of electrical engineering and the field of renewable energy systems.
  9. Continue study in any field of all the above-mentioned subjects.
  10. Establish and implement in depth research and development studies relevant to conventional and renewable energy systems.
  11. Use conventional and renewable energy software programs.
  12. Understand and employ the ethical responsibility for energy sustainability.

LEARNING OUTCOME

Graduates of this program will be able to perform the right analysis and measurements to discover the flues of energy systems and electrical networks, as the graduate will be qualified to suggest related improvement, in addition to generators, transformers, wind turbines, photovoltaic modules, transformers and other related equipment. Furthermore, the graduate will be able to design, stimulate, analyze, and apply renewable and conventional energy systems, or even expand the current systems to meet with the market needs. Other learning outcomes the graduate will be able to use renewable energy software such as Homer Energy, PVSYST, Sketchup and others. The graduate will perform professional research and development studies related to conventional and renewable energy systems.

Market Need for ELERE Graduates

Due to international, as well as national, need for the exploitation of renewable energy sources, electrical engineers with particular knowledge about renewable energy sources and their technologies are of particular importance. Electrical engineers with the mentality of searching for any possible renewable sources of energy that are available but not noticeable are needed. The ELERE program will produce such engineers.

The idea of employing the different sources of renewable energy available in a special location to generate electrical energy is gaining very high reputation now due to the positive impacts it has on human health, environment, economic situation, power reliability, and others. Such renewable energy sources reduce harmful gas emissions, reduces wastes of power stations, reduce running costs of conventional resources exploitation and usage, improve power systems reliability, and many other advantages.

In our particular case in Palestine, and because we do not own electrical power generation stations, but instead rely upon imported electrical energy, renewable energy sources constitute our only independent electrical power generators. These power generators can participate in solving the problem of electrical power shortage during peak consumption periods of which we already suffer.

Due to their many benefits, the employment of renewable energy sources in producing electricity is being encouraged by official parties in Palestine. Special regulations and facilitations, including subsidies are made to widespread the use of such sources. For example, new governmental constructions and buildings, such as schools, hospitals, and clinics, have to include photovoltaic systems to produce electrical energy.

Therefore, the Arab American University with its Faculty of Engineering & Information Technology finds it important to supply the community with such a program that is going to graduate engineers who are capable of fulfilling the above-mentioned community needs.

Careers of graduates

Renewable energy is widely spreading across the world. Due to the presence of some of the renewable resources in each country, developed as well as developing countries all are participating in the advancement of this sector.

Upon the above, Electrical Engineering with Renewable Energy program graduates can work locally and internationally in many sectors among which are:

  1. Electrical energy distribution companies.
  2. Municipalities and local councils.
  3. Electric sector regulatory bodies.
  4. Renewable Energy/ Photovoltaic Energy Companies.
  5. Energy Consultancy Offices.
  6. Renewable Energy Marketing Companies.
  7. Research Institutes in the field of renewable energy in governmental, university and private sectors.
  8. Construction and Contracting Companies.
  9. Private Businesses.